100 Westridge Dr., Watsonville, CA 95076 • Ph: 831-761-7300 • Fax: 831-722-8386
Current E-Edition

Local news Sports Obituaries BeyondThePage Progress Photos Home 

Knights' Hale named MVP of SCCAL

Posted: Thursday, Dec 6th, 2012

Soquel High senior running back Fabiano Hale, who broke several offensive records in his final year with the Knights, was named the Santa Cruz Coast Athletic League’s Most Valuable Player late Tuesday night.

Hale helped the Knights finish 9-3 overall during the 2012 season, including a 5-1 mark, as they reached the playoffs for the first time since 2009.

Hale totaled 2,452 rushing yards, which eclipsed the Santa Cruz County single-season rushing mark held by Harbor’s Calvin Keyser-Allen for the past 12 years. He also had 41 touchdowns total, breaking the record once held by current Jacksonville Jaguars defender Dwight Lowery.

Hale had several monster games, including two against Carmel. In the first round of the CCS Division IV playoffs, he amassed 375 yards rushing and scored six touchdowns against the Padres as the Knights pulled off the upset victory.

Hale wasn’t the only running back honored.

Aptos’ Elijah Marta was named co-Offensive Player of the Year. One of the many running backs for the Mariners, Marta tallied 12 rushing touchdowns and had almost 1,000 offensive yards for the season.

Marta shares the award with Scotts Valley running back Ari Wargon.

Soquel linebacker Kevin Kiff was named the Defensive Player of the Year.

Alec Bonsall, a tight end for Aptos who had several spectacular catches during the season, was named Lineman of the Year.

Aptos quarterback Alex Joh received Junior of the Year honors.

Outgoing San Lorenzo Valley coach Doug Morris was named Coach of the Year. Morris, the winningest coach in the SCCAL, guided San Lorenzo Valley to a 6-4 mark in his final season.

Two St. Francis Central Coast Catholic High players received first-team all-league honors. Clancy Ryan, a senior lineman for the Sharks, was named an all-leaguer by the coaches in the league.

Nate Ceballos, who had double digits in receiving touchdowns, also was named an all-leaguer.




MVP: Fabiano Hale, Soquel

Offensive Players of the Year: Elijah Marta, Aptos; Ari Wargon, Scotts Valley

Defensive Player of the Year: Kevin Kiff, Soquel

Lineman of the Year: Alec Bonsall, Aptos

Junior of the Year: Alex Joh, Aptos

Coach of the Year: Doug Morris, San Lorenzo Valley


Lucas Cordoza, Soquel

Derek Poetzinger, San Lorenzo valley

Aaron McAnerney, Aptos

Brodie Bennet, Aptos

Garrett Fonseca, Harbor

Clancy Ryan, St. Francis Central Coast Catholic

Matthew Sisco, Soquel

Evan Zigman, Soquel

David Salinas, Soquel

Peter Marigonda, Scotts Valley

Mitch Ocampo, Aptos

Jon Sullivan, Aptos

Lucas Sinnott, San Lorenzo Valley

Nate Ceballos, St. Francis Central Coast Catholic

Jake Renberg, Scotts Valley

Jack Lavery, Scotts Valley


John Camacho, San Lorenzo Valley

Armando Ortiz, Santa Cruz

Josh McKim, Scotts Valley

Miles Keys-McKay, Santa Cruz

Dakota Francis, Harbor

Robby Biagiotti, San Lorenzo Valley

Caleb Fidiam, Soquel

Elvis Plecq, Soquel

Nick DeMoro, Aptos

Willie Johnston, Scotts Valley

Abe Alvarez, Scotts Valley

Ian Howard, Scotts Valley


Garrett Johnston, Scotts Valley

Jason Bryson, San Lorenzo Valley

Ashtyn Davis, Santa Cruz

Alex Morris, Santa Cruz

Jonathan Carmona, St. Francis Central Coast Catholic

Ryan Reyes, Soquel

Jon Szakcas, San Lorenzo Valley

Carson Shoemate, Scotts Valley

Brett Turner, Scotts Valley

Alex Marquez, Aptos

Zach Black, Aptos

Angel Juarez, Harbor

Garrett Saucedo, St. Francis Central Coast Catholic

Trestan Peacock, Soquel

Cody Sullivan, Harbor

Ben Knudson, San Lorenzo Valley


John Wenger, Soquel

Dante Gomez, Aptos

Cody Clifton, Aptos

Austin Verdugo, Aptos

Sid Chi, San Lorenzo Valley

Ben Knudson, San Lorenzo Valley

Tucker Wiget, Soquel

Anton Geleseki, Scotts Valley

Eli Ungerecht, Aptos

Jordan Peabody, San Lorenzo Valley


Brian Blaich, Aptos

Billy Walls, Aptos

Tyler Iniguez, Aptos

Weston Hinson, Aptos

Antonio Andrade, Aptos

Ethan Clarke, Aptos

Brooks Nicholson, Aptos

Vincent Rodriguez, Harbor

Jasper Andrew, Harbor

Joe Wolinsky, Harbor

Luke Patenaude, Harbor

Milo Small, Harbor

Ceasar Guerrero, Harbor

Dylan Miller, San Lorenzo Valley

Matt Phillips, San Lorenzo Valley

Kjell Johnson, San Lorenzo Valley

Jordan Peabody, San Lorenzo Valley

Robbie D’Amato, San Lorenzo Valley

Duncan Mackie, San Lorenzo Valley

Riley Cameron, Santa Cruz

Doug Leonard, Santa Cruz

Gabe Mead Newton, Santa Cruz

Nakai Roberts, Santa Cruz

Ryan Renteria, Santa Cruz

Dale Stoller, Santa Cruz

Aidan Daily, St. Francis Central Coast Catholic

Cody Parker, St. Francis Central Coast Catholic

Alan Hernandez, St. Francis Central Coast Catholic

Dak Stiga, St. Francis Central Coast Catholic

Matt Clifton, St. Francis Central Coast Catholic

Steve Carroll, St. Francis Central Coast Catholic

Cameron Boostani, Scotts Valley

Emanuel Johnson, Scotts Valley

Deonte Balhin, Scotts Valley

Jake Lobo, Scotts Valley

Bradley McClaron, Scotts Valley

Simon Harris, Scotts Valley

Zachary Ledesma, Soquel

Andrew Schmidt, Soquel

Joel Silva, Soquel

Tristen Vukelich, Soquel

For the complete article see the 12-06-2012 issue.

Click here to purchase an electronic version of the 12-06-2012 paper.

Share on Facebook

Select Page:


Follow RP Sports Hide

The RP Q&A Podcast Hide

OwnLocal Hide

Follow Us... Hide

Translate Website Hide


Copyright 2017 News Media Corporation

News    Classifieds    Shoppe    Search    ContactUs    TalkBack    Subscribe    Information    E-Edition    Real Estate    LIFE    Auto Sales    Business Portal