100 Westridge Dr., Watsonville, CA 95076 • Ph: 831-761-7300 • Fax: 831-722-8386
Current E-Edition

Local news Sports Obituaries BeyondThePage Progress Photos Home 

A first time for everything: Sacramento’s Hirts races to his first victory in 360 winged sprint car series

Posted: Tuesday, Jul 23rd, 2013

WATSONVILLE —Sacramento’s Kile Hirst earned his first win Friday night in Ocean’s Taco Bravo 360 winged sprint car series. The win also assured him of a starting position in the Johnny Key Memorial race on August 24th.

“The Key race was a big incentive for us to return,” Hirst said. “That $10,000-to-win is big. I can assure you, we won’t be the only visitors trying to make the show.”

Hirst, who finished second in last week’s King of the West portion of the Howard Kaeding Classic, led all 30 laps.

Hirst held as much as a straightaway lead on his closest rival, young Carson Macedo of Hanford. Macedo, 16, put up a remarkable showing by closing the gap while maneuvering through slower traffic. His final charge to the checkered flag left him less than two-tenths of a second shy of his first win.

The Kaeding’s of Campbell both finished in the top five with father Brent racing from eleventh to third in the feature. His son Bud started seventh and finished fifth with an amazing run from the back of the field because of a flat tire in the earlier laps.

Dominic Scelzi, another talented teen racer from Fresno, was sandwiched between the two Kaeding’s with a fourth-place finish. It was Scelzi’s third top-five finish in his last two appearances.

Brad Furr, current leader in the series, earned the Ray Schiedt’s $100 fast time award with a best lap time of 11.656 seconds. Furr started and finished eighth.

Steven Tiner earned the Digital Delivery Networks “hard charger” award, starting sixteenth and finishing seventh.

Nathan Washam of Pleasanton won the “B” main event. Seven cars transferred to the

“A” feature.

Macedo, Bud and Brent Kaeding were heat race winners.

Mike Shapiro recorded his first career win in IMCA’s sport modified division. He led the entire 20-lap main event followed by Kyle Wilson and Matt Kile, who came in second and third.

Adriane DeSousa and Alexander Mead were the sport modified heat race winners.

DeSousa was sidelined with mechanical problems on lap nine. And the small nine car field experienced a caution period when Alex Wilson forced Mead into the crash wall while racing for second place.

Bobby Huckaby Sr. also won his first feature of the season in Ocean’s 4-Banger division.

Robert Gallaher, last week’s winner, crashed his brother Patrick into the wall on his way to a second-place finish. Ryan Fischer, current 4-Banger division leader Al Sotomayor, and Joe Montieth completed the top five.

Fischer and Gallaher won their respective heat races.

Tony Oliveira won his fourth American stock main event of the season. Jerry Supernaw finished second with his daughter Annalisa riding shotgun in the 20-lap race.

Ron Bonnema finished third despite locking bumpers with Johnny Farrell. Sean Markley Jr. and Joe Willoughby finished fourth and fifth, respectively.

Tommy LaLiberte rolled to his sixth feature win in Ocean’s non-wing spec-sprint division. Mark Chaves Jr. finished second in the 20-lap feature, followed by Tracy’s Austin Liggett.

Colton Slack and Jimmy Christian completed the top five. Terry Rothweiler, fourth at the flag, was disqualified during post-race tech inspection.

LaLiberte and Chaves Jr. were heat race winners.

Ocean’s 360 sprints sponsored by Taco Bravo will run its 12th round this Friday night. The support divisions include IMCA modifieds, Ocean’s non-wing division, American stocks and the Bay Area Dwarf car series

Share on Facebook

Select Page:


Follow RP Sports Hide

The RP Q&A Podcast Hide

OwnLocal Hide

Follow Us... Hide

Translate Website Hide


Copyright 2017 News Media Corporation

News    Classifieds    Shoppe    Search    ContactUs    TalkBack    Subscribe    Information    E-Edition    Real Estate    LIFE    Auto Sales    Business Portal