100 Westridge Dr., Watsonville, CA 95076 • Ph: 831-761-7300 • Fax: 831-722-8386
Current E-Edition

Local news Sports National Sports State/Nation Obituaries Opinion Photos Home 

Covington, Romero earn all-league status

Posted: Thursday, Nov 15th, 2012

WATSONVILLE — Pajaro Valley High’s Erandeni Romero and Watsonville High’s Cassey Covington were two players given first-team, all-Monterey Bay League honors on Tuesday night by the coaches in the league.

Romero was named to the first team in the MBL’s Pacific Division as she helped Pajaro Valley finish with a 6-6 record, the team’s best record since their 2009 league championship season.

Covington, one of the top hitters for the 4-8 Wildcatz, was named to the Gabilan Division’s first team.

“If you look at the list, it’s Cassey and Anela (Visesio of Seaside) mixed with the Notre Dames and Salinases of the world,” said Watsonville coach Ron Benavente. “She worked real hard this year.”

Benavente was named the coach of the year in the Gabilan Division, helping the Wildcatz stay competitive all season.

The coach said he wasn’t expecting to be awarded the honor.

“I think the other coaches recognized that we were really competitive, even though the record doesn’t show it,” Benavente said. “We didn’t get blown out by anyone. For a young team that I had, we were ultra competitive.”




Most Valuable Player: Alexandra Gerberick, Christopher

Sportsmanship Team Award: Alisal


Alondra Haro, Alisal

Stephanie Gonzales, Alisal

Chrissy Alorade, Alvarez

Hanna Tabron, Christopher

Michelle Toves, Christopher

Meghan Adams, Christopher

Aurora Chun, Monterey

Sasha Krnic, Monterey

Raquel Lozano-Hazlett, Monterey

Erandeni Romero, Pajaro Valley


Monique Mendoza, Alisal

Katelyn Brandon, Alvarez

Cheyenne Dela Merced, Christopher

Olivia Tabron, Christopher

Nicole Green, Gilroy

Haley Sepulveda, Gilroy

Jessica Garrett, Monterey

Neeli Tummala, Monterey

Tori Teraji, North Monterey County

Mercedes Chavez, Pajaro Valley

Anissa Heredia, Pajaro Valley


Zinniah Mariscal, Alisal

Genevee Hernandez, Alvarez

Kaitlin Brummitt, Christopher

Samantha Unadia, Gilroy

Lanja Karadaghi, Monterey

Tori Teraji, North Monterey County

Melissa Camacho, Pajaro Valley


Most Valuable Player: Laura Meyenberg, Salinas

Coach of the Year: Ron Benavente, Watsonville


Courtney Bramers, Salinas

Maddy Mandon, Salinas

Erin Reineking, Salinas

Daisy Valladares, Notre Dame

Savannah Torres, Notre Dame

Erin DeSerpa, Notre Dame

Erica Chapa, Hollister

Anela Visesio, Seaside

Cassey Covington, Watsonville


Alexis Froistad, Salinas

Emily Cunanan, Notre Dame

Marissa Espino, Notre Dame

Ellie Burley, Hollister

Marissa Espino, Hollister

Hannah Green, North Salinas

Riley Ashen, North Salinas

Sydney Beadle, Monte Vista Christian

Ashley Moore, Monte Vista Christian

Shailia Cervantes, Watsonville

Victoria Bledsoe, Seaside


Shelbea Treanor, Notre Dame

Malena Cueva, Watsonville

Alyssa Zoppi, Monte Vista Christian

Kelsey Rotthouse, Salinas

Melissa Martinez, Hollister

Whitney Rose, Seaside

Maritza Abzun, North Salinas

Share on Facebook


Follow RP Sports Hide

Translate Website Hide

Sports Pictures Hide


Copyright 2015 News Media Corporation

News    Classifieds    Shoppe    Search    ContactUs    TalkBack    Subscribe    Information    E-Edition    Business Portal